Home » gmail » Google further blurs the line between Google+ and Gmail

Google further blurs the line between Google+ and Gmail

Gmail

New setting lets anyone (or no one) email you through Google+ — even if they don’t have your Gmail address

Google today announced a new feature (or not, depending on your point of view) that will let anyone (or no one) e-mail you — even if they don’t know your address. 

The change will take advantage of Google+, using Google’s social service (OK, it’s actually way more than that at this point) to suggest contacts and send messages — even if you don’t know that person’s address.

(Have we mentioned it’ll be possible for people to e-mail you even if they don’t know your Gmail address?)

At face value, this sounds a little scary. Or at least it has the potential to be annoying as hell. The good news is that Google’s going to email everyone when the feature goes live, and you’ll be able to turn it off and on at your leisure, restricting the communications to only folks in your circles, extended circles (that’d be your circles’ circles), anyone on Google+ — or no one, if you choose.

Source: Gmail blog

    



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>